Picture Time! (Part one, the great outdoors)

First of all, keep an eye on the header pictures. They are all photos I’ve taken around here at the TTH and surrounding farm/ranch properties, which provides a wealth of photo opportunities and always makes me feel bad for only having my iPhone and not a proper camera on hand. I’ll add more header pictures as things continue to catch my eye. In particular, there’s a lot of photo-worthy wildlife around here I’d like to get pictures of, such as hawks, lizards, quail, roadrunners, rabbits, coyotes, and Josh.

And now the moment you’ve been waiting for! Pictures of the Tiny, Tiny House!

IMG_3385

There it is, the tiny house, all 518 square feet of it! It looks a little bigger than it actually is in this photo, because the structure coming off the right hand side of the house at the back is actually one of two sheds, not more house. You can see there’s a little place for my car to nestle. Josh’s car parks to the right of there under the pepper tree, which fills his engine compartment with tree debris and makes the entire Honda smell like campfires and imminent automotive death. He needs a car cover.

IMG_3395

This is the back of the house, taken from one corner of the yard and looking at it, with tiny Indy for scale there to the right. The backyard is spacious, with the second shed and chicken coop not even fitting in this photo. The dogs love to run and play and stretch their legs in the yard, which makes my heart happy. There’s a lot of yard work to be done, and the horticulturist on staff (Josh) has plans for vegetable gardens, weed taming, succulents and decorative plants, hedge trimming, planter updates, chicken palace improvements, sweeping off the roof, and other such manly duties I want absolutely no part of.

The pink and teal house across the road (dirt path?) from us are our only two neighbors on that side. There are three more tiny houses behind ours, but we have no side to side neighbors, which is nice. All these properties used to be overseers’ houses from the old Adohr Dairy that used to own and operate all this land, and we think that they were built sometime in the 1930s-40s. There used to be a dormitory style building for the workers, long since torn down. Interestingly, the house Robin rents at the sheep ranch down the road used to be the main family farmhouse of the same Adohr Dairy land, so that’s kind of cool. In home as in deed, I am her mighty minion. 

IMG_3390

You can’t see the house at all when you drive up the dirt road to approach it. It’s stealthy, like a ninja house. This is nice in that we get a lot of shade to keep the house cool (it has no AC), but also means that the roof needs frequent attention and sweeping, and that we’ll probably die when a tree collapses and crushes us in the night. 

IMG_3388

This is the view “out the front door,” like if you turn 180 degrees from where I was standing to take the Ninja House photo above. Just this week they’ve started planting this field, laying irrigation pipes, plowing, and watering whatever will be in there. I’m ashamed to say that when the sprinklers were on today, I drove very slowly past the field in the hopes that the overspray would rinse off my car. It’s really, really dirty. Don’t tell my dad.

tractor

Tractor with pipes. Camarillo and the Oxnard Plain have some of the most fertile soil in the nation, for geologic reasons my sister explained to me once and I can’t now recall. I want to say it was something to do with massive alluvial fans flooding the area, or… something. Anyway, it’s not often an aspect of California people consider, but it’s a very important one, both to our lifestyle and economy here in CA. FOOD! ‘MURICA! 

sunset

Looking past the trees into the farm field to the West of us. We’re allowed to walk the dogs around all the farm roads as much as we want, so long as we don’t disturb the crops, and obviously not when anyone is out there working. Josh and I really enjoyed the one whole walk we’ve managed to fit into our busy schedule of making coat racks, watching Game of Thrones, and wishing we’d gone to bed earlier.

telephone                 mountainandfield

Some pictures Josh took: The road on the way to work as the sun comes up, and a morning view over the fields. The white plastic tents in the photo on the right are covering raspberries. They’re also growing tomatoes in the area, and some low, ground-growing plants I can’t identify because I’m terrible at plants. Plants, man. What do they need? What do they want? How are they feeling? I’m good with creatures. Vegetation and I regard each other with hostility and mutual suspicion.

hilltop

Last but not least, here’s a view from the hilltop overlooking the sheep ranch, pointed toward home. This is one of several areas on the property we’re using the sheep to graze down, in order to help the landlord comply with fire safety regulations. That’s what I was doing on the hilltop; setting and checking electric fences to pen the sheep in at this particular grazing location. I didn’t get electrocuted this time, but the sheep were cranky because they don’t want to eat those scrubby brown plants and the tall yellow-flowered one that smells like licorice. I’m pretty sure the sheep resent my role in their lives on all possible levels. Anyway, the tan dirt patch to the left is the arena where we do most of the sheep work, and the clump of trees and greenery across the brown field to the north is where TTH lies. A short trip down the road and I’m home!

I feel very fortunate, every morning and every night. I hope that novel gratitude never wears off. Interior pictures to follow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

